Review: “I’ll give you the sun” by Jandy Nelson

Title: I’ll give you the sun

Author: Jandy Nelson

Publisher: Penguin Young Readers Group

Publication date:10/27/2015

I’ll give you the sun is absolutely B. E. A. U. T. I. F. U. L!!! No question about that. It’s so beautifully written that you can see everything that is happening in your head and the feelings are just too unbearable!!

Currently reading (1)

This book is about Jude and Noah who are twins. When they were little, they were extremely close. The story is from two perspectives, one in the present and one from the past. There are two twins, Jude and Noah, the present point of view is from Jude and the past is from Noah’s perspective. In the past, the twins were so close, but after three years, something happened that broke the twins apart. They are barely talking to each other. During those three years, they stayed in their own bubble, talked to each other only if necessary.

At thirteen, Noah is falling in love with this new boy next door, while Jude becomes more and more ‘that girl’. The one who goes cliff-diving with boys older than her. Jude usually talks for the both of them. Noah is scared of showing his feelings that are growing deeper and deeper everyday, but he is even more afraid of what people would think.

Three years later, at sixteen, Jude and Noah are not talking because something happened that wrecked their friendship and love. Jude meets a British boy and a new tutor who are more involved in her life than she ever thought possible.

As the story goes, the twins will discover the truth about the whole story that happened to them. What they don’t know is that they both hold a piece of the truth…

About the author:

Jandy Nelson is like Noah and Jude, she believes in all the superstitions. At a young age, she was tutored in the art of the four-leaf clover hunt. Before “I’ll give you the sun”, Nelson wrote another book, “The sky is everywhere” which earned a lot of good reviews.

Right now, Jandy Nelson lives and writes in San Francisco, California.

Currently reading (2)

*****5 stars ❤

Ok so I read this book a long time ago, but I was in the mood to write a review about it now.

At first, I have to admit that I wasn’t really interested in the book because I found it slow, but when I started reading it more and more, I found myself more and more interested.

What I loved the most in the book is how Jandy Nelson describes what is happening or how the characters are feeling. I could exactly see what was happening. I think that she did an amazing job and this book is a work of art!! I loved this book, it is one of my favorites of all time and that is saying a lot! It moved me so much in so many different ways. I never saw anyone describe something so beautifully that it moved me so much except Jandy Nelson. She is like…the god of writing. And the superstitions made it even more unique!

I am so overwhelmed that I read this book. It made me feel so many emotions that I thought I might explode. Even now after all this time since I read it, I still smile whenever someone mentions it. It was so beautiful; the plot, the characters and the writing…wow!! It was the kind of book that I had to put down to just keep it together. I did cry when I read it, but I think I cried because of how beautiful the story was **tears of joy**.

Let’s talk about the characters! OH MY GOD! I totally felt in love with Noah and Brian. The way they are pictured together in my head is so CUTE!! They are so cute and I just love them. Again, the way Noah describes how he feels for Brian is so amazingly good!

“He’d put his hands on me, I know he would, and then I’d twist around and we’d melt together like hot wax. I can see it happening in my head.”

I was the one who was melting when I was reading that. Noah and Brian forever ❤

I also loved Jude and Oscar. The way they liked to tease each other and THE ORANGE THING!! Omg!

The story was just amazing; the end made so much sense and I saw the story from a different perspective which I didn’t see before. Though I have to admit that I kind of saw the revelation coming…. I had my suspicions that their mother was in love with Guillermo. The only thing I did not suspect is that Jude never mailed Noah’s application into CSA. But even though I saw the truth coming, I couldn’t stop reading.

If you haven’t read t yet, you have to. It is a must-read!Currently reading (3)

Leave a Reply

