Review: “Throne of Glass” by Sarah J. Mass

Title: Throne of glass

Author: Sarah J. Mass

Publisher: Bloomsbury Publishing

Publication date: August 2, 2012

Wow this book!! I read this book in like two days and I really did not expect it to be as good as everyone says, but it really surprised me. It was very enjoyable and I am definitely going to read the second book. I can’t believe that it took me so long to pick it up.

Currently reading (1)

The main character is Celaena Sardothien. She is an assassin; the best, but she got caught when she was seventeen years old and was sent to a death camp which is the salt mines of Endovier. A year later, she is still alive, but she is not like she used to be; she is in very bad shape. One day, she meets the Crown Prince, Dorian and he offers her her freedom if she does something for him. She has to be his champion in a competition. If she wins, she will become the king’s champion, which is basically a royal assassin who kill people under the king’s order.

In this competition, she has to defeat twenty three men who are killers, warriors and thieves to be able to win this competition. These men are sponsored by a member of the king’s council, just like the Crown Prince chose Celaena. If she wins, she will have to serve the kingdom for four years and after, she is free. The guard, Westfall will train her and it won’t be easy; in fact it will be very challenging because the year that she spent in the Salt mines were very exhausting for her body and she has to be in shape over again. She often gets really bored, but things get a little more excited when the prince starts to show an interest in her….although the Captain Guard seems to understand her better.

During the competition, some contestants turn up to be dead…something evil dwells in the castle and it’s here to kill. Celaena must find out what is this evil and has to stop it before it’s too late…

Currently reading (2)

*****4.5 stars

This book have to be on my top shelf. It was freaking AMAZING. Like I said before, I really didn’t know if I wanted to read it at first because there was so much hype about it. I honestly thought it would disappoint me, but boy, it did not. I immediately got sucked into the story since the beginning.

The cover:

So I read the book with the cover that you see on the top and let me just tell you that is it so cool!! One of the reasons I did not read it earlier is that I did not like the ancient cover. If you don’t know what it was, it was a girl with the wind blowing her hair…yeah. But when I say the new cover I decided to read it and I did and I am so grateful for it. Just to tell you guys that the cover is an important thing for a book because we all know that we do judge a book by it’s cover; there I said it, the real truth.

The characters:

Celaena: I really liked the fact that Celaena was an assassin and it was really nice to read from her perspective. She isn’t like the characters I use to read about and I really found that intriguing. I really liked Celaena from the start; I like the way she is fearless and so badass. And I realized that there is also a sort of girly part in her personality; she wants to go to the balls, she likes to wear beautiful dresses….and I really liked that about her. The moment I actually decided that she would be one of my favorite main female characters is when she played the piano and explained to Dorian what it meant to her ❤ so cuteeee. It was then that I realized that she might be reckless and an assassin, but even she has a heart. I like the fact that she doesn’t care what other people think of her; she is definitely one of my favorite female characters. She is so funny, brave and strong and I just love her. I could see why two boys fell in love with her 🙂

Dorian: I did not like Dorian at first. Like Celaena said, he was arrogant and it wasn’t the good kind of arrogant (for me). But then as the story went, my feelings changed about him. He wasn’t arrogant anymore, well it didn’t bother me when he was and I found myself looking forward to read about him and Celaena. If you guys didn’t noticed yet, I have a crush on princes. I mean, they are so strong and brave and I just want to melt in their arms ❤ So yeah, I might have a little crush on Dorian, but I am not in love with him…yet. Books have the tendency to mix my feelings. I liked the way he and Celaena can talk and tell each other things that they never said to anyone else before and the way they tease each other all the time, but I am not Team Dorian…sorry. Don’t get me wrong, I like him, but I don’t love him.

Chaol: Ok so as you might have guessed, I am TEAM CHAOL!!! I am so frustrated that all the romantic scenes are with the prince. I mean, why not split it up with Chaol!! He is my favorite ❤ I just think there is something special about him that Dorian doesn’t have. I just think that he and Celaena are just meant to be with each other. I loved Chaol from the start. I like the way he is professional and then as the story goes, he lets his wall down a little bit with Celaena and…..and…and I just love him so so much ❤ ❤ Guys, I’m in love. HE might not be the prince and he might not have danced with Celaena and he might not have kissed her yet, but I believe that CHAOLENA WILL BE FOREVER ❤ If not, I’m going to cry a little, but just a little because like I said I don’t despite Dorian, I just prefer CHAOL ❤ I loved the way he and Celaena understand each other and the way they tease each other…OMG ❤ They are perfect, just perfect. And with what happened at the end, I am so shipping them. He killed Cain for her and told her to get up when she wanted to give up; I mean, if that’s not love then I just going to throw everything in my room. And also when Celaena told Dorian that she couldn’t be with him, I couldn’t help but smile. Don’t get me wrong, I was sad for Dorian, but Chaol is my baby and I support him all the way!!!! Although my ship might change because there are still a few other books to come so….we’ll see what happens, but for now CHAOLENA.

Nox: I really liked Nox. In my head he seemed like a little innocent kid who is just in a bad situation and I loved Celaena when she helped him. I was practically shaking when I read about the part when she had to fall from the tower to be able to save him…huh…good memories. I was so glad that NOX DID NOT DIE!!! I had a strong feeling that he would be killed, but he survived and I’m just so overjoyed (you know, when nobody is safe from death because writers are professional killers). THANK YOU SARAH FOR KEEPING HIM ALIVE. But you never know if it’s going to last because I have a feeling that he will be in the next books.

Arobynn Hamel: ok so let’s talk about the King of Assassins. At first, I thought that he was a very nice guy because he took care of Celaena after her parents died and all. But then, she tells us the things he made her do and let me just tell you that he is a cruel selfish asshole person. I mean, who the hell tells a person to break her right arm because her left one was weaker?!? Oh oops sorry, he gave her a choice; either he would break it or she could break it herself!!! What is this, Why in the world do you want to do that?!? And the fact that Celaena must repay him after for her training! what a cruel man! Evil is what he is! I just hate him so much, but I have a feeling that we will meet him in the next books….so we’ll see. I hope that Celaena will punch him in the face so hard he won’t be able to talk or eat again.

The only thing I didn’t like:

ok so there is only one thing I did not appreciate and it is really minor. The only thing that could happen to make it perfect is that I wanted to learn more about Celaena’s before life. I know that her parents died and ever since she was trained by a cruel man who is the king of the assassins. We know that she loved someone named Sam and that he died because someone betrayed them…but then we don’t know anything else and I would have liked to know more about it. Like exactly what happened with Sam and all. Although I’m glad that Sam died because if he wasn’t, Celaena wouldn’t like either Dorian nor Chaol. And I would also like to know what exactly happened to Elena. I hope that everything would be explained in the second book!!! I’m absolutely going to read the second book, can’t wait!

The story:

ONE OF MY FAVORITES!!! I loved the story; I thought it was gripping from the start and I just couldn’t stop reading! I’m so frustrated that I didn’t read it earlier. Just wow…Sarah J. Mass has such an amazing talent!!! I really respect people who write fantasy because you have to create a new world and that is very very hard. The book was so much better that I thought it would be. There were times I would start laughing like an idiot and everyone around me would look at me like I am crazy, but I don’t care because it was so amazingly good and funny and smart and original….just AMAZING ❤ Love it, Love it, Love it!!! ❤

I even loved the love triangle and usually I don’t. The only books that I thought the love triangle was okay were Throne of glass and Red Queen. But throne of glass is the only book that I had so much trouble to decide which team I shipped because I loved Chaol more, but all the romantic scenes were with Dorian….but I finally chose Chaol because aaahhh, I just love him ❤

The end of the book:

Ok so the end, omg. Again, I thank Sarah so much that it was a happy ending; at least for me! It has such a long time since I read a book where my favorite characters do not die and I am truly overjoyed. I was in a such good mood today. I loved how Elena came during the battle to save Celaena. The battle was fierce-just like I wanted it to be!!! So good! And since I’m not Team Dorian, it did not bother me that Celaena and him did not end up together…for now. It is a must-read!!!

Conclusion:

This was such a wonderful read and I am definitely going to read all the books in the series and probably re-read the books over and over again. I am so excited to read the other books, but I am also terrified about all the things that might go wrong. But whatever, I’m still going to read it because life is full of risks, right 😉

I would be pleased to know what you thought about the book, you can leave your thoughts in the comment section below.

Currently reading (3)

5 thoughts on “Review: “Throne of Glass” by Sarah J. Mass

  1. Pingback: Review: “Crown of Midnight” by Sarah J. Maas |

  2. Pingback: Help me | Queen of Shadows | My opinion site

  3. Pingback: Queen of Shadows review |Sarah J. Maas | My opinion site

Leave a Reply

