Judging a book by its cover?| Discussion

Book discussion (2)

This is the first discussion post that I am writing; I’m so excited! 😀

Ok so the question is: Do you judge a book by its cover?

The question first came to my mind when my friend told me that she bought a book that she wanted to read because the cover is gorgeous. As soon as I heard the word ‘book’, I started getting very excited and started asking a lot of questions about it. Like for example, what’s the title, what genre it is or what is it about? Here is what she told me: “I honestly don’t know what it’s about. I just found the cover super gorgeous and I just had to buy it!!!”.

So now I’m asking you guys, do you judge a book by its cover? Do you think it’s a good thing or a bad thing? Do you do it all the time? How often?

I personally sometimes judge a book by its cover, but I also have to read the plot. If the book’s cover is gorgeous, but the story plot doesn’t interest me, I won’t buy/read it. Of course if the book has a beautiful cover, I’m going to be more interested to read it than a normal book cover. I think that the cover is a very important thing that no one should take lightly because the cover represents the book. So if the cover is awful, the readers already have a bad impression of the book and I know some people (myself included) who haven’t read a book because the cover just wasn’t appealing (Vampire academy)

So yeah covers are important for me, but I don’t really judge a book by its cover; I prefer books with beautiful covers 😉  But seriously, you can’t judge a book by its cover if you haven’t read it yet; how are you going to judge the poor book when you haven’t even read it so no, I’m not going to judge; I’m just going to choose if I’m going to read it or not. If you understood what I just said, you are amazing XD Seriously, sometimes I write some things and nobody understands XD

I pick a book by its cover not that often because usually, I have to read the plot to put it in my TBR list. The cover is just here so that I am intrigued enough to read the plot. I have no shame to admit that! And I also know that I am not the only one doing it! XD

We are a bunch of booklovers/book cover judging/extremely emotional people XD.

So tell me in the comments below what you think of book-judging and if you do it. Have a nice day/night!

 

 

 

 

4 thoughts on “Judging a book by its cover?| Discussion

  1. Usually I already have this huge stock of book titles on my TBR and focus more on the title. It’s just an added bonus if I love the cover too. Although there have been times where I don’t pick up a book to read the synopsis, just because I judge what sort of book it is from the cover.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: January wrap up | 2016 – My books opinion site

Leave a Reply

