Review: “Through the Zombie Glass” by Gena Showalter

Title: Through the Zombie Glass

Author: Gena Showalter

Publication date: July 29, 2013

Publisher: Harlequin

My rating: 3.5 stars

Hey my dear readers! Today, I’m going to tell you about my feelings about “Through the zombie glass” by Gena Showalter which is the second book of the white rabbit chronicles.

Currently reading (1)

Zombies are not a legend. They truly exist and at night, they look for food to crave their hunger; human souls. But like in every situation where there is evil, there is light and in this case the light is zombie slayers. They hunt the zombies down to protect the others.

Alice Bell thought she lost everything when her family died and lost her home, but now she is somewhat happy with her new boyfriend, Cole Holland, the bad-boy who is the leader of the zombie slayers. Since the accident that killed her parents and her sister, Alice became a slayer to avenge her family.

After a zombie attack, strange things start to happen. Ali starts to feel some urges…that brings bad news. Her reflection in the mirror starts to come alive and some whispers of the dead assault her ears. There is a evil force inside her that she can’t explain. Just when she needs the help of her friends and her boyfriend, they seem to withdraw from her. In this story, Alice will try to discover the secret behind her behavior and why Cole is acting s distant…

Currently reading (2)

**NO SPOILERS**

I actually started reading this series because a friend of mine recommended it to me. Even that, I wasn’t very determined to read it, but then she lent me the book so I tried it and was pretty surprised by the first book. So after two months, I asked her to lend me the second book too because I wanted to know what happened.

The book took me a lot longer to read than I expected. I read it in five days I think and I originally planned to read it in three, but this week has been very busy. I had a lot of projects to do that took my whole weekend so today was the only day that I could finish it and I did.

The characters:

I really like the characters in this book because in the first one, I felt like I didn’t really know them yet and I wished to know them better. And this book gave me what I wanted!! I saw that the characters were fierce and would do anything for each other. I really like characters with a strong personality and who know what they want and go for it. So these characters were really awesome for me. Even the characters who weren’t slaying zombies had this something that made me like them. I liked the fact that we were able to see a new part of Ali which was very interesting. Cole is as badass as in the first book (if not more), which is why I like him so much!

The story:

Now, let’s talk about the story. I really enjoyed it at first, but then the book seems to grow heavy on me and I just….it wasn’t as entertaining as before. Some parts of the book got me like “What? We are going in circle right now!!!”. Some parts in the book were just so repetitive and it bugged me so much. There is a certain love triangle and I just didn’t like it. I do not usually like love triangles, but there are some exceptions and this one wasn’t one. The love triangle was just boring and like come on, I knew with who she would end up. So it really bothered me when the characters were going round and round, it was like they wanted to make everything more complicated. At first, the love triangle was exciting because who doesn’t like to see a jealous boy who tries to get his girl back?, but then it grew heavy and the book become more and more boring. I started losing my interest in this story and then, even in the action parts, I found myself wanted to finish it as soon as possible so that I can start another book. I was actually very happy that the book finished. I felt like the book could have been smaller and it wouldn’t change a thing. I don’t know if I even want to read the next book which is “The Queen of Zombie Hearts”. Anyways, it is definitely not a priority.

Although I thought the story was boring, it definitely held some potential. It’s not everyday that I read a book about zombies. It’s actually the first book that I read that is about zombies and it’s not my favorite kind of story, but I am interested to read more. Like I said, the story held some potential, but it was just too long for me. The book started to get heavy and I didn’t even want to read it anymore. The only thing that got me going was Cole because he surprised me every time. But that doesn’t mean that I didn’t like some things about it like the couples in it ❤

Cole is like the perfect mysterious badass super sexy boyfriend everyone reader wants to read and fangirl about.

Ok so I am totally in love with the couples in this book! Frosty and Kat ❤ Reeve and Bronx ❤ and of course Ali and Cole <3. It was like being in a dream!! The super hot squad who are mysterious finally show us their emotions!!!! I liked the fact that the slayers all deeply care for each other and we can clearly see that. They protect each other all the time and I personally think it’s really cute 😀 even though we’re talking about zombies.

 

I gave this book 3.5 stars and I recommend it to people who like fantasy, zombies, action and super hot and mysterious guys 😀

Currently reading (3)

Leave a Reply

