First lines Friday #2

blurry-lightsj

Hello book lovers! I know that I haven’t been posting anything lately and I apologize for that. I have been really busy with school homework and projects!! I am so stressed because of all the things I have to do, but I’ll be fine. Since today is Friday, I decided why not do another first lines Friday. This one is going to be my second one. When you will this post it might already be Saturday because I’m writing this at 10:30 at night.

If you don’t know what it is, it’s a weekly feature for book lovers hosted by Wandering Words.  Judge a book by its opening lines, and not by its cover! So here we go!

The rules:

  • Pick a book off your shelf and open to the first page
  • Copy the first few lines to capture the reader’s attention
  • Finally… reveal the book!

The first few lines:

She’d never killed before tonight.

“Stay back” her sister hissed.

_____ (name I’m not going to say because it might reveal the book) pressed against the stone wall of the villa. She searched the shadows that surrounded them, briefly looking up at the stars, bright as diamonds against the black sky.

Squeezing her eyes shut, she prayed to the ancient sorceress. Please, ____, give me the magic I need tonight to find her. When she opened her eyes, fear shot through her. On the branch of a tree a dozen paces away sat a golden hawk.

“They’re watching us,” she whispered. “They know what we’ve done.”

____ flicked a glance at the hawk. “We need to move. Now. There’s no time to waste.”

This book is actually hard to guess because it really isn’t obvious. I can give you a hint though: It’s one of my favorite YA fantasy book series….Can you guess what it is? Scroll down to discover which book it is.

The Book is:

12954620

Falling kingdoms by Morgan Rhodes!!! It was actually hard to guess because the book is written through different perspective (which I love about that book) and this perspective was from a character that isn’t very present in the book. In fact, this beginning doesn’t make sense until you finish the book.

Ad yes, it’s one my favorites of 2016. I think that it’s the second book I read this year and I am already in love. It might actually be one of my favorites of all time. There was a lot of action, intrigue and it was so original!!! This book broke my heart into pieces, but I am so glad that I read it. I gave it 4.5 stars and here is my full review: Review: “Falling Kingdoms” by Morgan Rhodes

Seriously, if you haven’t picked it up yet then you have to because this is so freaking good!!!!

 

Plot from Goodreads:

In the three kingdoms of Mytica, magic has long been forgotten. And while hard-won peace has reigned for centuries, a deadly unrest now simmers below the surface.

As the rulers of each kingdom grapple for power, the lives of their subjects are brutally transformed… and four key players, royals and rebels alike, find their fates forever intertwined. Cleo, Jonas, Lucia, and Magnus are caught in a dizzying world of treacherous betrayals, shocking murders, secret alliances, and even unforeseen love.

The only outcome that’s certain is that kingdoms will fall. Who will emerge triumphant when all they know has collapsed?

It’s the eve of war…. Choose your side.

Princess: Raised in pampered luxury, Cleo must now embark on a rough and treacherous journey into enemy territory in search of magic long thought extinct.

Rebel: Jonas, enraged at injustice, lashes out against the forces of oppression that have kept his country cruelly impoverished. To his shock, he finds himself the leader of a people’s revolution centuries in the making.

Sorceress: Lucia, adopted at birth into the royal family, discovers the truth about her past—and the supernatural legacy she is destined to wield.

Heir: Bred for aggression and trained to conquer, firstborn son Magnus begins to realize that the heart can be more lethal than the sword….

I hope hat you enjoyed this post and until next time 🙂

Currently reading (3)

One thought on “First lines Friday #2

  1. Pingback: February Wrap-Up | My books opinion site

Leave a Reply

