Review: “To kill a Mockingbird” by Harper Lee

Hello book lovers! Today, I’m going to be writing a review on To kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee.

Title: To Kill a Mockingbird

Author: Harper Lee

Published date: 1960

Publisher: Harper Perennial Modern Classics

Rating: 5 stars

This book really deserves my rating because gosh, it was amazing and I recommend it to anyone. Really it’s perfectly written and so many symbols that mean so much. This book is so well explained and realistic.

Currently reading (1)

There is no real synopsis and I highly recommend to just dive in without really knowing what it’s about (I’ll explain why in my review 😉 )

So here is the “synopsis” on Goodreads:

The unforgettable novel of a childhood in a sleepy Southern town and the crisis of conscience that rocked it, To Kill A Mockingbird became both an instant bestseller and a critical success when it was first published in 1960. It went on to win the Pulitzer Prize in 1961 and was later made into an Academy Award-winning film, also a classic.

Compassionate, dramatic, and deeply moving, To Kill A Mockingbird takes readers to the roots of human behavior—to innocence and experience, kindness and cruelty, love and hatred, humor and pathos. Now with over 18 million copies in print and translated into forty languages, this regional story by a young Alabama woman claims universal appeal. Harper Lee always considered her book to be a simple love story. Today it is regarded as a masterpiece of American literature.

Currently reading (2)

P.S. This review doesn’t contain spoilers

**5 stars
This book is a classic which I read a little less than a year ago and it is definitely one on my top list. Usually I am not a fan of classics but this one is one big exception. I know that a lot of people say that this book is amazing because it is so well-known, but the funny thing is when you ask them why it’s amazing, you can’t obtain a clear answer from them. So I’m going to tell you guys why this book touched me in so many ways that it just holds a part of my heart.

I actually had to read this book for school which means that I had to all the symbolism and had me reading it again and again so I could answer some tests questions. I didn’t immediately fall in love with this book. Took me some time to fully understand the characters and the way of writing of the author. What touched me the most was how well-written the story was; the descriptions were so structured and I could sense the passion of Harper through her words. But the thing that really got me is when we could see Jem’s evolution as a character. When the book first started, he was immature and more like a child than an adult, but as the story went on, he started seeing the world as it really is; cold and full of injustice. He could finally decide by himself and was no longer a child. He actually became a little bit like Atticus. And it’s useless to say that Atticus is a very good model! He is so open-minded and everybody can only hope to be like him.

Another thing that I liked about this book is how I read it without even knowing what it would be about. At the back of this book, there was no synopsis so I had absolutely no idea what would happen or it’s about. At first, I wondered what it could be about, I mean not that the Boo part wasn’t interesting, but I didn’t really know what the main concept was. And I liked not knowing. When I really realized that this book wasn’t only about some children trying to discover the secret that is Boo Radley, I couldn’t put the book down.

Usually, books that have innocence as a theme are very boring for me because I don’t like innocent characters. I like more people who knows what they want and do anything to get it. But this book was an exception because of how the theme was explained is very unique. In To kill a Mockingbird, innocence is something very symbolic because it represents the negro society; they don’t do anything bad but get arrested, tortured and killed and the whites are everything except innocent because they are the one who do the bad things, but not the Finch family. Scout, Jem and Atticus are white, but also innocent in a way because they don’t go around accusing people and wanting to eliminate the negro society. They are actually trying to help the society by trying to say that everyone is equal. That touched me in so many ways and that why I don’t mind that innocence is a theme in this book.

Really if you haven’t had a chance to read it yet, you should try to make time for it because the concept of this book is just stunning.

So here was my review on this exceptional book. I hope you liked it and until next time 🙂

Currently reading (3)

One thought on “Review: “To kill a Mockingbird” by Harper Lee

  1. Pingback: February Wrap-Up | My books opinion site

Leave a Reply

