Review: “Crown of Midnight” by Sarah J. Maas

Title: Crown of Midnight

Author: Sarah J. Maas

Series: Throne of Glass series

Rating: 5/5 stars!!!!!!!!!!!!

Publication date: August 2013

Publisher: Bloomsbury Children’s books

Hello my dear readers! Today, I’m going to be writing a review on Crown of Midnight. If you don’t know, it’s the second of the Throne of Glass series. The first book is Throne of Glass (duh!) and I actually wrote a book review on it. Here it is: Review: “Throne of Glass” by Sarah J. Mass. I gave 4.5 stars to Throne of Glass. This review contains a free-spoiler and spoiler section because I just can’t write a review without spoilers for this book!!!! Don’t worry, I tell you when I am going to enter the spoiler section.

Warning: Do not read this review if you haven’t read Throne of Glass.Currently reading (1)

Like I said, Crown of Midnight is the sequel of Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Maas. Now that Celaena has become the king’s champion, she needs to fulfill her duty by killing the people the king wants dead. But the thing is that she still keeps some secrets that could not only her life but also the people she loves. Oh, did I mention that she is an assassin? because she is.

From Goodreads:

From the throne of glass rules a king with a fist of iron and a soul as black as pitch. Assassin Celaena Sardothien won a brutal contest to become his Champion. Yet Celaena is far from loyal to the crown. She hides her secret vigilantly; she knows that the man she serves is bent on evil.

Keeping up the deadly charade becomes increasingly difficult when Celaena realizes she is not the only one seeking justice. As she tries to untangle the mysteries buried deep within the glass castle, her closest relationships suffer. It seems no one is above questioning her allegiances—not the Crown Prince Dorian; not Chaol, the Captain of the Guard; not even her best friend, Nehemia, a foreign princess with a rebel heart.

Then one terrible night, the secrets they have all been keeping lead to an unspeakable tragedy. As Celaena’s world shatters, she will be forced to give up the very thing most precious to her and decide once and for all where her true loyalties lie… and whom she is ultimately willing to fight for.

Currently reading (2)

NO SPOILERS!

I actually loved Crown of Midnight more than Throne of Glass which is really rare because I usually don’t like the second book of a series. But this book is the only book that is better than the first one in my opinion. Throne of Glass is really good but Crown of Midnight is so much better. I can already tell that this series is one of my favorites of all time. It was breath-taking, really sometimes I had to stop reading because I just had to breathe!

Story and writing:

I thought that the story was so well-built and full of suspense. Sarah J. Maas created a world full of possibilities that will always have a special place in my heart. The magic part was so mysterious and as the story went, it kept revealing some secrets that you never thought of and you end up so mind-blown that you can’t read anymore. You have to breathe and try to process everything that happened. This book had so many plot-twists and I was like “HOLY FREAKING CRAP”. I mean, I suspected it to come (not all of them though) but even that it surprised me because it didn’t feel real until the words were actually written.

The story kept revealing stories from the past and I freaking loved it. So entertaining! I’m not going to lie and say it was a fast and easy read, it was not. The main reason is because I stopped reading so many times to be able process the story. This story affected me in so many ways!! Magic was even more present in Crown of Midnight which also creates more suspense and the stories about Wyrds are so captivating and makes you asks for more.

If you read my other review, you know that I wanted to learn more about Celaena’s past and Crown of Midnight answered to my demands. We get into a deeper side of the past which is just great.

I loved how there were multiple points of view! It’s fascinating to see from the perspective of lots of characters. It makes us connect with them and the story even more. There is even more action happening (if that’s even possible) and the characters’ evolution definitely adds some excitement to the plot. Just an amazing read!

The writing was as always fantastic. I could visualize everything Sarah was writing and couldn’t get enough of her writing. The words just seemed to fly from the page and the description were written with a such beautiful way. It’s like she chose the right words every time she wanted to explain something. Got me into it so damn much!

Warning: This book will shatter your soul into pieces but it’s worth the read 🙂

Characters:

For me, characters is one of the main aspect that I look forward in a book because if I like the characters, I will like the book for sure. The Throne of Glass series has such strong characters and I really love them (I even love to hate the villains). The character’s evolution in this book were amazing!

Celaena: Celaena is probably one of my favorite main characters that I read about of all time. She is so strong, brave, loveable and funny. She has this funny twisted sense of humor that makes me laugh every time and she has a strong sense of right and wrong and won’t think twice to act if it means saving the ones she loves. I can’t particularly relate to her because um…I’m not that brave or badass. I am more of a chicken, but the thing is that the fact that we are very different made me love her even more. She made me see things in a totally different way and I was totally able to be her when I was reading the book. Congrats Sarah because only few people could do that. In this book, we can see a darker side of Celaena’s personality and it enables us to see a new side of her. It’s really interesting because you think you know the character, but then learn a new side of them. I love her girly moments, her badass moments, romantic moments and sad moments. She is definitely very one of the best characters I ever read about.

Chaol: Chaol is bae ❤ I mean, come one he is totally the perfect guy. I particularly like his passionate side ❤  The Captain of the guard falling for the assassin, what is not to love? As you might have noticed, I am Team Chaol! #Chaolaena forever!!!!!! Chaol is even funnier in this book. And we can see that he absolutely love Celaena when the story is on his point of view. I am so happy that Crown of Midnight has more Chaol time than Dorian time!!!!!!!! I was always team Chaol and that’s not about to change.

“I worry because I care. Gods help me, I know I shouldn’t, but I do. So I will always tell you to be careful, because I will always care what happens.”
Sarah J. Maas, Crown of Midnight    

I love this man ❤ ❤ I totally ship them!!! Ship, ship, ship!!!

Dorian: Even if I’m Team Chaol, I really like Dorian. I think he’s a very kind and funny guy who is also very brave. He fights for what he believes is right and I really admire that. But I don’t see him with Celaena; he’s more like her brother in my opinion. Dorian is one of the characters who went through the most changes in this book. He discovered something that he didn’t know about himself which I have to admit made me fall for him a little bit. He is becoming even more interesting to the plot!

I think that’s all I’m going to say for the non-spoiler section. I really recommend this book to people who loves YA fantasy.

SPOILERS!

I just had to do a spoiler section because of all the feels I want to share with you guys!

First, let’s talk about Nehemia’s death!!!!!!! I so did not see that coming!!! I don’t think it was even important to the plot. Sarah could have another way to make Celaena realize that she needs to act and do something but why Nehemia’s death?!?

And like that’s not enough, she had to be mad at Chaol after! I was so happy with/for them! And then this happens!!!! She even wanted to kill him! I was crying so much. Everything happened so fast and I was so mind-blown! Chaol thought about them being married and all and I was so into it then the next moment she hates him 😥  But I still believe that Chaolaena will still live, no matter what!

Then, let’s talk about Celaena!!!!! Not only is she a Fae, but she’s also the lost Queen of Terrasen!!!!! My mind is blown! I suspected that she had super powers, but never did I know that she was a Fae!!!!! And then we learn that she is Aelin! Holy crap! Did not see that coming!

Also, there’s freaking Dorian who has super powers!!!! Where did that come from? But this fact made me fall for Dorian a little bit. I thought that he and Nehemia would be together fighting the king….Guess I was wrong.

Then there’s Archer who I didn’t see coming! The guy was behind everything and I didn’t suspect a thing! Like what’s happening to me?

Ok fangirling aside, I thought that it was clever of Sarah to show us a new side of Celaena. Her side where she only sees death and only wants to destroy and kill. It was definitely captivating how we thought that we knew the characters than Sarah makes us realize that we only know half of the truth. So amazing!

So this was my review on Crown of Midnight by Sarah J. Maas. Until next time 🙂

cropped-currently-reading-3.jpg


3 thoughts on “Review: “Crown of Midnight” by Sarah J. Maas

  1. Pingback: February Wrap-Up | My books opinion site

  2. Pingback: Help me | Queen of Shadows | My opinion site

  3. Pingback: Queen of Shadows review |Sarah J. Maas | My opinion site

Leave a Reply

