First Lines Friday #

blurry-lightsj

Hello dear readers! Today, I’m going to be doing the First Lines Friday! This is the fourth time I am doing it and it’s very interesting.

If you don’t know what it is, it’s a weekly feature for book lovers hosted by Wandering Words.  Judge a book by its opening lines, and not by its cover! So here we go!

The rules:

  • Pick a book off your shelf and open to the first page
  • Copy the first few lines to capture the reader’s attention
  • Finally… reveal the book!

The first few lines:

“SOMETIMES I THINK that everyone has a tragedy waiting for them, that the people buying milk in their pajamas or picking their noses at stoplights could be only moments away from disaster. That everyone’s life, no matter how unremarkable, has a moment when it will become extraordinary—a single encounter after which everything that really matters will happen.

My friend Toby came down with a bad case of tragedy the week before we started seventh grade at Westlake Middle School. We were fanatical about Ping-Pong that summer, playing it barefoot in his backyard with aspirations toward some sort of world championship. I was the better player, because my parents had forced me into private tennis lessons ever since I’d been given my own fork at the dinner table. But sometimes, out of a sense of friendship, I let Toby win. It was a game for me, figuring out how to lose just convincingly enough that he wouldn’t figure I was doing it on purpose. And so, while he practiced for the mythical Ping-Pong world championship, I practiced a quiet, well-meaning type of anarchy toward my father’s conviction that winning was what mattered in life.”

Ready to guess?

Scroll down to see

The Book is:

Thanks for reading and until next time 🙂

cropped-currently-reading-3.jpg

2 thoughts on “First Lines Friday #

  1. Pingback: February Wrap-Up | My books opinion site

Leave a Reply

