Information about the book tour and ARC review of: “Hell School: Fresh meat” by Heidi Angell

Title: Hell School: fresh meat

Author: Heidi Angell

Rating: 3.5 stars

unnamed

Hello people! Today I’m going to write a review on Hell school: fresh meat which is written by Heidi Angell. So I got this free ARC e-book from the author. Thank you for giving me the opportunity to read it. It will actually be released on March 14th. This review is spoiler free so feel free to read it!

Book tour:

I want to thank Heidi Angell for inviting me to participate in a tour for her book, Hell School: Fresh Meat, which will be officially released this 18th of March. The book tour starts February 21, 2016 and end in March (end of March). There is more information on the tour on her blog: Heidi’s blog! You can also preorder her book with this link.

Other information:

Heidi is the author of Creative Exercises to Inspire
Book-related blogging at http://anangellslife.blogspot.com/

Information about the author:

Heidi Angell

Heidi Angell is an avid reader and passionate writer! She is the author of The Hunters Series, The Clear Angel Chronicles, and The Hell School Series. She also created Royal Prince Vince, and Creative Exercises to Inspire,

When she is not reading and writing, she can be found spending quality time with her lovely family camping, hiking, swimming, or watching movies.

Try to support her because her writing is really good and she deserves it 🙂 I am very honored that I got to contact such an amazing and strong person. Again, thank you for giving me the opportunity to review and read your book!

Currently reading (1)

The story is about a girl named Sam. She is a freshman who just moved in a new town which is full of people who don’t really understand her and she doesn’t understand them in return. Sam badly wants to blend it, but that is really hard when you’re very tall and looks older than you actually are. Also, there is the guy who keeps sending her these letters, which are full of bad poetry. Although some may think that this act is romantic, Sam knows that there is something wrong with it. She doesn’t feel comfortable with this secret admirer.

Synopsis from author:

High school is hard, especially when you’re a freshman in a new town, surrounded by people you don’t understand and who don’t understand you.  Sam was overwhelmed just trying to fit in. Then she is singled out with the first letter.

While some girls envy the “romantics” of this unknown admirer, Sam can tell something isn’t right.  Sam wanted to just blend in, but someone’s eye is fixated on her.  As the letters and bad poetry continue, so does the nagging in Sam’s stomach telling her this is not normal.

When things escalate from strange to creepy, Sam’s world becomes a nightmare.  Twisted admiration is stalking her around every corner in the high school from hell….

Currently reading (2)

My rating is 3.5 stars. Overall, it was very interesting because it really happened to the author. She really was stalked by someone (and it isn’t the good kind) and I was really moved by her note at the beginning where she said that she couldn’t experience the high school experience because she was so scared. It made the book even more intriguing because the author is writing about something that actually happened to her which makes it even more alive.

Characters:

  • Sam: She is the main character and a freshman. She just moved in this new town which I could relate to. I, myself, changed school a lot in the last few years and let me tell you, it’s not great to be the new kid. You have to make new friends and you don’t actually know if you’re going to have friends. Also it’s hard to leave your old friends and try to move on. So yeah, I could definitely relate with Sam at various parts of the books. Though I wouldn’t freak out immediately if it’s the first time I receive a note, but at some point, I would find it very creepy and act exactly like her. I really liked the fact that even though she had new friends, Sam didn’t stop writing to her old ones. I liked the way the letters were introduced after every chapter; it was like a sort of summary of each chapter and I thought I was clever.

 

  • Wes: Wes is like the super popular, athletic and hot guy that leave the girls giggling, but also have a deep side in him.  I liked how he told Sam to take action about her situation unlike her friends. I really like how easy going he is and how he tries to hint to Sam that he likes her. And his advice were really good. I would love to have more friends like him; people with who I can joke around with, but also be serious with.

 

  • Clint: I personally thought that Clint was desperate, but I liked how his character evolved throughout the story. Definitely an interesting character. Clint is one of Sam friends and also has a little crush on her. He is very sweet and smart which is something a girl about a guy. I think that the main thing he lacked was confidence because a girl likes someone who knows what he wants.

I think I’ll stop here for the characters or else I’ll be writing for way too long.

 

Story:

I know that the story is supposed to be based about the stalker and how Sam’s life is going to change because of it, but I felt like the stalking side was a little bit left behind. For me, the story was more of Sam dealing with high school and just being disgusted by a certain guy. I mean, she still went to school dances and all. She was just disgusted that she got the letters with bad poetry but it didn’t feel that creepy (not like I thought it would) so I was quite disappointed about that part. I wanted to read a creepy story that would leave me glad that I wasn’t the main character. But Sam did got some high school experience, quite a lot even.

Other than that, I really liked Wes’ and Sam’s relationship. It wasn’t heavy and complicated which I really appreciate because I always like it better when things are smooth and easy (don’t ask why, I don’t know).

Final verdict:

Ok so overall, this book was good mainly because of the characters. They were so realistic which made them so much alive. The story itself wasn’t great in my opinion, but it wasn’t bad either. It was just in the middle. So this is why I gave this book 3.5 stars. I recommend it to anyone who likes or wants to read about high school difficulties.

So this was my review, I hope you liked it 🙂 Until next time!

Currently reading (3)

3 thoughts on “Information about the book tour and ARC review of: “Hell School: Fresh meat” by Heidi Angell

  1. Hello Amanda! Thank you for being a part of the tour! I am glad that you enjoyed the characters. I know this one started out a bit slow, but this is the first in a four part series. The creep factor will increase! I hope you will be up to reading the second book when it comes out next year!

    Amanda’s readers, I will be dropping in all day, so if you have any questions let me know!

    Thanks again Amanda, and have a fantastic day!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: February Wrap-Up | My books opinion site

Leave a Reply

