Review: “Legend” by Marie Lu

Legend

Title: Legend

Author: Marie Lu

Series: Legend series

Published: November 29th 2011

Hello my dear readers!!! Today, I’m going to be reviewing Legend by Marie Lu. I read this book at least two weeks ago, but didn’t have time to review it. And since now I don’t have school, I figured why not do it today? This review will contain a spoiler section, but I’ll tell you guys first (I don’t want anyone to get spoiled, unless you want to get spoiled).

Also, I just wanted to let you guys know that I  created a new twitter account (since I don’t remember the password of the other one) and be sure to follow me on: Twitter/Amanda-Lim/. I didn’t really post anything yet, but I’ll get to it.

So now let’s start this review!Currently reading (1)

What was once the western United States is now home to the Republic, a nation perpetually at war with its neighbors. Born into an elite family in one of the Republic’s wealthiest districts, fifteen-year-old June is a prodigy being groomed for success in the Republic’s highest military circles. Born into the slums, fifteen-year-old Day is the country’s most wanted criminal. But his motives may not be as malicious as they seem.

From very different worlds, June and Day have no reason to cross paths—until the day June’s brother, Metias, is murdered and Day becomes the prime suspect. Caught in the ultimate game of cat and mouse, Day is in a race for his family’s survival, while June seeks to avenge Metias’s death. But in a shocking turn of events, the two uncover the truth of what has really brought them together, and the sinister lengths their country will go to keep its secrets.

“I don’t know if anyone’s ever told you this”, he begins. He doesn’t blush, and his eyes don’t dart away. Instead I find myself staring into a pair of oceans – one perfect, the other blemished by that tiny ripple. “You’re very attractive.”

I’ve been complimented on my appearance before. But never in his tone of voice. Of all the things he’s said, I don’t know why this catches me off guard. But it startles me so much that without thinking I blurt out, “I could say the same about you.” I pause. “In case you didn’t know.”

A slow grin spreads across his face. “Oh, trust me. I know.”
Marie Lu (Legend (Legend, #1))

Currently reading (2)

I gave Legend 4 stars out of 5 stars not because it was plain good. I was absolutely original and extremely good-thought. Like most of books, there were still some minor things that bothered me but overall, it was really fascinating how the story develops.

The writing

The writing was so easy to read and I could perfectly imagine how the setting is. No problem with that at all which is a very good thing because sometimes, I read books but I don’t feel connected to it at all because I can’t imagine the setting. Marie Lu did a fantastic good keeping the readers into the book during all the story. From the synopsis, you know that some things are going to happen, but it’s amazing how Lu actually makes it happen. Let me explain what I mean; everything is tangled and it is so interesting how she makes everything fall into place. I also liked the fact that the story was written from Day’s and June’s perspective. That way, we feel more connected to both of the characters and we can see the story happening through both eyes. This book was just amazingly written!

The story

If you didn’t know, this book series contain A LOT of hype. And I think that’s what downgraded my appreciation towards this book. It was good, really good even, but I thought it would be so much more and believe me, I was disappointed. I thought that the story would contain more action. There is action, but not enough for me. One of my friend told me that this book is so action-packed, but I didn’t think so. Certain moments got me really excited, but it wasn’t action-packed all the way as a lot of people say. But except that, I thought that the story was really entertaining. I loved how the characters acted in some situations. There are a lot of dystopian books that are out there in the world, but this one has something special about it….I don’t think I’ll ever forget its story. I will absolutely read the sequel!!!!

Characters

I absolutely love the characters (especially Day). In my head, Day was a mixture of Peter (from To all the boys I’ve loved before) and Jace (from the mortal instruments). He had that amusing personality that we all love. I have to admit that I had some problems with June at first, but then I got over it. All the characters have such a special personality that you can’t help but love, which is rare in a book, but again, Marie Lu did an amazing job!

HELLO

First, let’s talk about Metias!We all knew that he was going to die. It even says so in the synopsis, but when it actually happened, I cried so damn hard! Anyone else? When I first wanted to read, I didn’t actually realized how good of a person he is. And I really did cry when he died. As if it wasn’t enough, June had to keep thinking about him and some memories they had which really broke my heart.

Also, let me tell you that I did know that Thomas was the bad guy! And when June discovered it, I was like ‘Yes I knew it.’ and I was so glad that she betrayed him. I never actually liked him…he didn’t actually made anything to the story so I figured that he was the one who killed Metias.

I love Day. He is a legend, a warrior and my hero ❤ When he was being tortured, I just wanted to jump in the book and hug him and tell him that everything was going to be alright. *sigh* My heart broke every time I started to read from his perspective. All this pain that he was going through… When he saw his mom die, I truly wanted to assassinate Thomas!! There was a certain time that I really didn’t like June for what she did to Day and I was practically yelling at her “Help him already” and when she finally did, I was so overjoyed.

Now, let’s talk about John….

Just when I thought I’d get a good ending without any more deaths, he dies……*sigh*. I really did cry for that. I really don’t see why this was important ( maybe it’s because I can’t think clear with all my emotions). I really really wanted him to live. And the way he died!! So heroic! Left me drowning in my own tears.

Anyway, life happens sometimes….and you can’t do anything about it. There isn’t any chance that he can come back to life, is there? Well, I guess I’ll be broken for the rest of my life then. Ok but seriously, he was so much like Metias. A big brother who would do anything to protect people he loved.

 

So this was my review on Legend! Tell me your thoughts and feelings in the comments. Hope you liked it and until next time 😀 cropped-currently-reading-3.jpg

3 thoughts on “Review: “Legend” by Marie Lu

  1. Pingback: Prodigy Review| A sequel that blew me away | My books opinion site

Leave a Reply

