Heir of Fire review | Sarah J. Mass

Heir of fire

Heir of fire is the third book in the throne of glass series (might I add that it’s one of my favorite series of all time) and today I’m going to be reviewing how amazing it is. There will be a spoiler section at the end of this review so beware the people who didn’t read this book. I gave Heir of fire a 5 stars (no shocker there) and Sarah J. Maas keeps surprising me with her books, it’s breathtaking. **Do not read this review if you didn’t read throne of glass or Crown of midnight.

 

Currently reading (1)

She was the heir of ash and fire, and she would bow to no one.

Celaena Sardothien has survived deadly contests and shattering heartbreak—but at an unspeakable cost. Now she must travel to a new land to confront her darkest truth…a truth about her heritage that could change her life—and her future—forever.

Meanwhile, brutal and monstrous forces are gathering on the horizon, intent on enslaving her world. To defeat them, Celaena must find the strength to not only fight her inner demons but to battle the evil that is about to be unleashed.

The king’s assassin takes on an even greater destiny and burns brighter than ever before in this follow-up to the New York Timesbestselling Crown of Midnight.

**Synopsis from Goodreads.com

Currently reading (2)

“Heir of fire” totally blew me away! I feel like the series is getting better and better. I’m so excited to see where this is going. There was so much character development which made me love these characters even more than I did. After reading heir of fire, I am craving for Queen of shadows, which is the fourth book in the series. There were new characters that were introduced  that are quite…..exceptional. I really love them. The only character I don’t like is the King and the others are like in a grey zone. To be honest, it doesn’t surprise me that I’m giving this book a 5 out of 5 stars because this series is going to be one of the best action-packed series ever for me and I have no doubt that Sarah J. Maas is going to blow us even more away with the next books.

Aelin:

In ‘heir of fire’, there was a lot of flashbacks from the past that intrigue me a lot and made me read ‘the assassin’s blade’ right after. It’s nice to see how Aelin/Celaena used to be before becoming an assassin and the little insights in her family. My love for her has even more increased because now, I know exactly what she’s been through and I realized how strong she is (not just physically, but also mentally). She’s someone who never gives up if it’s for the ones she loves. I can only to be as strong as her!

The writing:

The writing is also getting better. I always loved Sarah J. Maas’ writing for her precision in details and I was not disappointed in any way. She outdid herself with ‘Heir of fire’. I could exactly picture everything she described like I was actually there. It’s not for nothing that she has so much success.

Ok so this is the end of my review without spoilers because I really don’t know what else to write without spoiling anyone. So here is the spoiler section:

HELLO

 

First, let’s talk about Aelin!!! Holy shit! She’s so amazing! She’s my inspiration ❤ She faced her fear of her magic. She was totally afraid of using her powers because she was scared she would kill the people she loves, but she still faced her fears and came out even more powerful. She also wants to take back her kingdom (finally, I’m so excited) and to make the king pay for what he did. I just can’t wait to see what happens! And the most heart-breaking things were the flashbacks of her when she was little; to see what happened to her before becoming an assassin. She finally accepted what happened to her and for a reason, it made me so proud of her.

Rowan and Aelin

There’s a new character that is introduced to us in this book and guess what? He’s a fae warrior with ice magic. And I will add that the fact that Rowan is a prince is even more intriguing 😉 So this new character is helping our Celaena to master her powers which is compelling since she has fire power and he has ice power. So throughout the novel, he doesn’t only help her with her powers, but also help her in her journey of finding out who she is which is pretty funny because at first, they hated each other’s guts but now, they are best buddies. I also want to talk about their relationship; I think that Sarah J. Maas did an amazing thing by bringing a new friend to Celaena when she needed it the most. She was just heartbroken because of Nehemia and Chaol.

To be honest, I don’t really know if I ship them. I see them more like friends right now but maybe in the next book, my mind will change. Either way, I just want Aelin to be happy with whomever she wants.

Dorian and Sorcha?? 

To be honest, I didn’t really like Sorsha…. I accepted the fact that she and Dorian love each other but I wasn’t really approving it. She was too much of a goody goody for me. After Celaena, I would have thought that Dorian would love someone like her; someone who is fearless and likes to challenge him all the time, but I guess I was wrong. So the only reason that her death was sad for me is because of Dorian. Poor baby! He watched her as her head was cut off her body because of his dad. After that, the king enslaved Dorian with this collar after he exposed his magic to protect Chaol. Well, I guess we all know who the Worst dad ever award goes to. I just want Dorian to be freed again so he can fight with Celaena now that he saw how evil his dad is.

Aedion

Aedion was a real surprise in the plot for me because Aelin never talked or even mentioned him before. When we first see him, we think that he’s an asshole that lives up to his reputation of whore, but then we discover that he’s so loyal and we can’t help but to fall in love with him. I really really want Aelin to save him from the evil king and I want their reunion!!!! Aedion would probably be pissed off a little bit about the fact that Aelin risked her life to save him, but then they would hug and tell each other their stories. I really want their reunion to happen!!!!

Manon

So Manon is another new character that is introduced in ‘Heir of Fire’. She’s a ruthless witch that’s only pleasure is to kill.  In the beginning, I wasn’t a big fan of Manon because I couldn’t really see why I would ever like her, but then I started to like her. I started to see a bit of Celaena in her and I became really excited for her chapters. I wanted to see how the witch world worked and with all the wydwerns that are introduced. We can see her evolution throughout the book. She started to become more human; not in a bad way, but she started to feel something, she started to care for other people that herself. I really like her and I’m thrilled to see her meeting Aelin.

I really want to read Queen of Shadows as soon as possible to discover what’s going to happen next.

This was my review, I hope you liked it and don’t forget to leave your opinion in the comments below.cropped-currently-reading-3.jpg

 

 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Heir of Fire review | Sarah J. Mass

  1. Pingback: Help me | Queen of Shadows | My opinion site

  2. Pingback: Queen of Shadows review |Sarah J. Maas | My opinion site

Leave a Reply

