Review: Why we broke up| Daniel Handler

Why we broke up

Greetings everyone!! Today, I’m going to be reviewing “Why we broke up” written by Daniel Handler and illustrated by Miara Kalman. As you can see in the photo above, I didn’t really like the book. Yeah….unpopular opinion, I guess. First of all, I was really intrigued by the premise of this book and very excited to read it, but I was really disappointed. This review doesn’t contain any spoilers. So let’s start:

Currently reading (1)

I’m telling you why we broke up, Ed. I’m writing it in this letter, the whole truth of why it happened.

Min Green and Ed Slaterton are breaking up, so Min is writing Ed a letter and giving him a box. Inside the box is why they broke up. Two bottle caps, a movie ticket, a folded note, a box of matches, a protractor, books, a toy truck, a pair of ugly earrings, a comb from a motel room, and every other item collected over the course of a giddy, intimate, heartbreaking relationship. Item after item is illustrated and accounted for, and then the box, like a girlfriend, will be dumped.

Currently reading (2)

Rating: 2 stars

**does not contain spoilers**

I really don’t know what happened. Everyone seemed to love this book and it was described as amazingly heartbreaking and perfect so I decided to give it a try….That did not go well for me. I guess that the reason is because I wasn’t really into the story. Usually, when that happens, it is because I couldn’t really connect or relate to the characters. Okok, before starting with everything I didn’t like, I’ll talk about the stuff I liked (yes, I did like some stuff)

Things I liked

-The uniqueness

I have to admit that this book was very unique in its own way. The illustrations added something new and special to the story and it stood out of the other YA books (which is one of the main reasons why I picked it up). They were really gorgeous! It was nice to see the illustrations throughout the book. They were one of the only reasons that kept me going to finish the book.

-The writing

The writing was really good compared to the other books I didn’t like. It was very clear and precise which I really appreciated. Some authors have the tendency to try to make their writing complicated which kind of irritates me. Don’t get me wrong, I love to learn new words whenever I can, but when you have to look in the dictionary every five seconds, it becomes boring and annoying for the reader (well, a reader like me).

Things I didn’t like:

The main problem I had with this book is that i couldn’t completely emerge into the story and that bothered me so much because at lot of people kept telling me how awesome and heartbreaking this book was. The characters were just annoying me at some time and I didn’t feel a particular relationship between the couple either.

And also, THERE WERE TOO MANY REFERENCES I DIDN’T GET!!!!!

I had a problem with Ed. I thought he was a jerk; he did a lot of things that made me think “what the hell are you doing?” He just bothered me a lot and at first, I thought that maybe my feelings are going to change throughout the book, but even at the end, my feelings were unchanged. I had to force myself to read it.

Thanks for reading 🙂 Tell me about your opinions in the comments below. If you loved the book, I’m sorry that this wasn’t a positive review and if you didn’t like it, please share your thoughts with me 🙂 Until next time 🙂cropped-currently-reading-3.jpg

Follow me on:

        

Leave a Reply

