Interview with Luke Taylor, author of Vault of Dreams and a lot more

Interview with author.jpg

Hey everybody! So not long ago, this amazing author gave me an ARC of Vault of dreams (which was amazing by the way). And he told me that he could do an interview for my blog so here it is.

13282586_10206541093267950_1676721652_o

 

And I really recommend Vault of dreams! I gave it a 4.5/5 stars and a review will be up soon (hopefully this week).

 

As you can see, the cover is absolutely gorgeous and I really fell in love with the characters.

 

and i'm yoursAlbanland. Emerald hills and ice blue lochs, bordered by Nørds raiders and the haughty monarchs of South Angle, each dynasty eager to seize lands weakened by a civil war in which a usurper has risen to seize the cloven throne.
Morgance, Faer Princess of the Night.
And by her side, the fearsome Ultan Skölhammer, sworn Guardian of the Crown.
But Rhoswen, rightful heir to the throne, princess in exile, leads a final uprising from the depths of the forest, an uprising that twists together the lives of the most unlikely companions.
A notorious thief accused of a crime she did not commit.
A baird apprentice searching for the meaning of life.
A pair of brothers who can’t seem to stay out of trouble.
And a gypsy bound to the ancient artifact known only as the Vault of Dreams.

Hey! Ho!Let's Go!

1.     What character holds a special place in your heart? And why?

Aerlyn, because she was the first character I met, first one I wrote, first one I cared for. In an ensemble you still need an MC, and she is the subtle MC of Vault of Dreams because the story starts and ends with her. Also, she has a lot of mystery and we get to see her heart, but she also skirts the line between traditional “good” and “bad”, and hopefully she speaks to people who have gone through difficult things in their lives with the hope of overcoming and helping others.

2.     What inspired you to write Vault of Dreams?

I was watching Neil Oliver’s A History of Scotland and I had read Leigh Bardugo’s Six of Crows and the idea that I blend my two favourite things, Scotland and multiple-POV ensemble YA Fantasy just fell out of the sky in my lap, thank God.

3.     Are you working on something new right now?

Yes, I’m working on several YA books, including Exospherica, which I am quite excited about. I’ve had the idea for years and it I love the cover.

4.     Do you think there could be a sequel, not necessarily that you will write it, but could the story continue?

This is a yes and no because there are far too many trilogies and series in the YA community and we need more standalones, also, because I want the story to live on in the reader’s hearts. Whatever happens next is up to them. So, in that way, the story doesn’t stop, but I won’t write any more books; prequels, sequels, or otherwise. VoD is a standalone.

5.     Did you plan everything that happened (the end) before you started writing the book or did you just find out while you were writing it?

I did have many of the logistical ideas in place but I always write in the moment, so, writing it is just as exciting as reading it. It’s like watching a movie and I want to experience the story in a linear manner as well. Again, I do have a rough idea of what’s going to happen in certain parts of the story, but it is a very organic process so I get constantly surprised and excited to write.

6.     For you, what is the most important thing in a book (ex. Characters, plot, writing….)?

Characters are number one, but I don’t have any characters before the story. The only come from the story itself. But, really, I’m not writing if it’s not about character. You can have a lame plot and have really interesting people. So, character number one.

7.     What genre do you like to write the most? And why?

YA Fantasy! I feel it’s a natural blend of all the other things I do. Granted, I got my start in mystery and thrillers, but I love the creative freedom of YA fantasy. Also, it’s not as dense as traditional (adult) fantasy, so, I feel like it’s a lot easier to read and write. You don’t have to have a glossary of terms or slog through ten one-thousand page books just to get to the good stuff. I find that I can blend shades of mystery, thriller, and horror into my YA Fantasy and it meshes really well. I’m not a fantasy writer by trade, so to speak, so I’m always blending it with those other genres.

8.     Do you aim for a set amount of words/pages per day?

I used to, but I go for chapters now, because they’re like complete thoughts. I do a lot of editing, too, and sometimes I can get three or four chapters done in a day, but some chapters, such as battle scenes or things that require logistics and a lot of thought to keep balanced take awhile. I don’t ever get stuck on a scene or a particular part because I always know what to do. I get stuck because there’s more than one way to go about doing it and I want to make sure I take the time to do it the right way.

9.     What was the hardest part to write in Vault of Dreams?

The hardest part to write in Vault of Dreams was the battle scene because I wanted to balance all the characters having their moment and keep the battle wild and confusing but still really clean and crisp like they do in movies such as Gladiator and Braveheart. A lot happens to the characters in that action sequence and it chews up a few chapters, so, it was important for me to slow down and get it right.

10.  What are you favorite books? And did they influence you in any way?

My favourite books are Leigh Bardugo’s Six of Crows, Julie Eshbaugh’s Ivory and Bone, Roshani Chokshi’s The Star-Touched Queen, and also The Arabian Nights, The Chronicles of Narnia, The Song of Albion Trilogy, The Count of Monte Cristo, and Red Harvest, because Dashiell Hammett is one of my favourite writers and I’ve read just about all of his work, and Red Harvest was the one that knocked my socks off. Kurosawa adapted it for the film Yojimbo which alone shows how good the material is, because that film is one of my favourite Kurosawa films. I also really loved Me Before You and Eleanor & Park and reading the best a genre has to offer makes you want to investigate further. I know the chance to find a new favourite book is only ever a page away.

ABOUT THE AUTHOR

Luke  Taylor

 

“My name is Luke and I write books and music.

Inspired by the action and adventure of the Star Wars and Indiana Jones films, I wrote my first books when I was 7 and passed them around to my fellow classmates. Fully illustrated and poorly stapled, they were well loved, and sequels were often in high demand. My mother read epic fantasy trilogies to me when I was young, and it stuck. Whenever I write, I just write what I see, as if watching a movie. My mind is a high-definition DVD player and I promise to never run out of material. In high school I studied film, wrote hundreds of songs, and wrote five novels that nobody will ever read. So then I took a break and decided I would never write again.

But then, one day, I did. The book, Evening Wolves, won two awards and changed my life.
My style is cinematic and character-driven. I write YA Fantasy and Sci-Fi standalones, Mysteries, and Epic Fantasies. Yes I will accept your friend request. Don’t be afraid to ask me a question.

I read a lot, too, mostly YA Fantasy, Fantasy, Sci-Fi and Mystery, and I write reviews. Check out my shelves to see if I’ve read a book that you enjoyed. I am passionate about my favorite books and favorite authors.”

Follow me on:

        

Hi There!

2 thoughts on “Interview with Luke Taylor, author of Vault of Dreams and a lot more

Leave a Reply

