First Lines Friday!!

First Lines Friday

Hey! It’s been a long time since I did this post so I decided to do it today. If you don’t know what it is, it’s a weekly feature for book lovers hosted by Wandering Words.  Judge a book by its opening lines, and not by its cover! So here we go!

The rules:

  • Pick a book off your shelf and open to the first page
  • Copy the first few lines to capture the reader’s attention
  • Finally… reveal the book!

The first few lines:

The forest had become a labyrinth of snow and ice.

I’d been monitoring the parameters of the thicket for an hour, and my vantage point in the crook of a tree branch had turned useless. The gusting wind blew thick flurries to sweep away my tracks, but buried along with them any signs of potential quarry.

Hunger had brought me farther from home than I usually risked, but winter was the hard time. The animals had pulled in, going deeper into the woods than I could follow, leaving me to pick off stragglers one by one, praying they’d last until spring.

They hadn’t.

I wiped my numb fingers over my eyes, brushing away the flakes clinging to my lashes. Here there were no telltale trees stripped of bark to mark the deer’s passing—they hadn’t yet moved on. They would remain until the bark ran out, then travel north past the wolves’ territory and perhaps into the faerie lands of Prythian—where no mortals would dare go, not unless they had a death wish.

Scroll down to see what’s the book:

The book is:

A Court of thorns and roses!! by Sarah J. Maas. Did you guess it? Tell me in the comments below!

Hi There!

Follow me on:

        

2 thoughts on “First Lines Friday!!

Leave a Reply

