The Last Olympian review and discussion| The last book of this amazing series

The Last Olympian
Title: The Last Olympian
Series: Percy Jackson and the Olympians
Number of pages: 381
Published: May 5th 2009
Publisher: Disney-Hyperion Books
As many of you know, I am in love with this series. I was able to finish the entire series during this summer like I planned to. And let me tell you, it did not disappoint at all! Seriously, read it if you haven’t already. These books are so easy to read!
Thisreviewcontainsspoilersbuttherewillbeawarningbeforethespoilersection.Sobefreetoread☺(1)
and i'm yours

All year the half-bloods have been preparing for battle against the Titans, knowing the odds of victory are grim. Kronos’s army is stronger than ever, and with every god and half-blood he recruits, the evil Titan’s power only grows. While the Olympians struggle to contain the rampaging monster Typhon, Kronos begins his advance on New York City, where Mount Olympus stands virtually unguarded. Now it’s up to Percy Jackson and an army of young demigods to stop the Lord of Time.

In this momentous final book in the New York Times best-selling Percy Jackson and the Olympians series, the long-awaited prophecy surrounding Percy’s sixteenth birthday unfolds. And as the battle for Western civilization rages on the streets of Manhattan, Percy faces a terrifying suspicion that he may be fighting against his own fate.

and i'm yours (1)
**do not read this review if you haven’t read the previous books**
Rating: 5/5 stars
This last book is my favorite! It was so action-packed (like all of his other books), but this was even more than the other books. It is amazing to see how much the characters are grown. We started this journey with them when they were 12 years old and now they are 16. It has been such a journey and I’m so glad that I decided to read this series.
 It is a very good conclusion to the series, but I can’t wait to read the lost hero to see what become of those characters. I had so many emotions while reading this book. I couldn’t stop making some links from the previous books and got quite emotional. I knew that the final book in the series would be epic and it did not disappoint at all.
 Things in this book are happening very quickly and it might even make your head spin (in a good way). It is definitely more intense since there is an atmosphere of war coming up (the war between the gods and titans) and it makes you on the edge of your seat from beginning to end. While reading this book, I was left wondering what would happen to our beloved characters and I came up with theories that might resolve the big mystery.
Anyway, what I’m trying to say is read it already!!
 HELLO
Now this is the spoiler section, so we can be able to discuss further more this amazing book.
Even in the beginning of the book, Mr. Riordan decides to make someone die….*sigh*. Beckendorf dies in a heroic way that just makes me so sad. He was mentioned in the previous books a couple of times, but we never got attached to him. But when he died in this heroic way, I just couldn’t help my heart to break just a little, especially for Silena. She is revealed to be the spy later, but it still hurts to see what she was going through with his death and it was clear that she loved him. And the thing is, his death was only the beginning.
After Beckendorf blows up the ship, Percy goes his father’s kingdom which is currently at war. I was so happy for Percy at that moment because he got the chance to see his dad’s palace. In the previous books, he reveals that he is kind of jealous of Tyson because he was never invited in their dad’s palace. So I was glad for him (but about not the war thing).
It was very interesting how Percy and Nico were trying to see into Luke’s past to be able to destroy him and it was quite something when they went to visit his mother. At this point, I understand (not approve, but understand) a little bit more Luke and what he has become. It becomes more obvious why he ran away, why he hate his dad…And about that, it saddens me that his dad couldn’t say anything even though he knew what would happen. I mean, it was obvious that Hermes loved his son but he couldn’t tell him.
It was also very nice to see how at the end, Hades and Poseidon came and help the gods. Poseidon decided to let his palace being destroyed and Hades decided to let go of his grudge (which paid off at the end). Was it just me or this moment was kind of emotional? I was especially proud of Hades, he decided to help his family no matter what.
FavoriteScenes
My favorite scene has to be when the war is over and Percy and Annabeth finally become official. I mean come on, I have been waiting for this moment for such a long time!! Long live Percabeth ❤ Seriously, the kiss-under-the-water scene was the best, so cute!
I want more of them and hopefully, in the heroes of Olympus series, there will be more!! I don’t even know why I was worrying about Rachel being in the way. It was written in the stars that these two are made fr each other.
Parts I have to talk about
  • How ridiculous it was for the Ares and Apollo cabins to argue about a chariot when there is a war coming up

I mean seriously? Did you not see the war?! It was shocking and kind of funny to see that Clarisse would not participate in the war because of a ridiculous chariot. Although, I liked that the Apollo cabin gave it to the Ares cabin at the end.

  • The whole process of Percy becoming invincible

“I planned to walk in slow and courageous like a real hero. As soon as the water touched my leg, my muscles turned to jelly and I fell face-first into the current”

” Nico’s mouth hung open. “You just . . . with a sword . . . you just—”
 “I think the river thing worked,” I said.
 “Oh gee,” he said sarcastically. “You think?””

  • The whole battle: Titan Hyperion’s attack, flying pigs, the drakon…etc.

The battles were so entertaining. My favorite was the drakon. When Clarisse came and just destroyed him…it was priceless.

  • Luke dying

To be honest, I actually had no idea if I wanted Luke to die. If he survived, I would never be able to completely trust him again and if he didn’t, well that was just sad. So I’m still not sure about it, but I guess his death is for the best? (Please don’t hate me)

What do you think? Have you read the book? Let me know in the comments below!

 Hi There!
4 thoughts on “The Last Olympian review and discussion| The last book of this amazing series

  1. Do you think adults may enjoy reading this series too or just teens? I like books that are intense and put me at the edge of my seats hehe.. This author wrote many books, but are they different series with different characters or are they the same characters that spin off from the Percy Jackson series? Do you know of it? I haven’t venture into these books yet.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: August Wrap-up!! | My books opinion site

Leave a Reply

