Scarlet Review and Discussion| Better than the first one in my opinion

springtime-1
Title: Scarlet
Series: The Lunar Chronicles
Author: Marissa Meyer
Number of pages: 464 pages
Published: February 5th 2013
Publisher: Feiwel & Friends
Scarlet is the second book of the Lunar chronicles series written by Marissa Meyer. Cinder, the first book in the series is about Cinder (obviously) and the second book is about another person, Scarlet that is eventually going to meet Cinder after.
You can check out my review on the first book: Cinder review
Thisreviewcontainsspoilersbuttherewillbeawarningbeforethespoilersection.Sobefreetoread☺(1)
and i'm yours

Cinder, the cyborg mechanic, returns in the second thrilling installment of the bestselling Lunar Chronicles. She’s trying to break out of prison—even though if she succeeds, she’ll be the Commonwealth’s most wanted fugitive.

Halfway around the world, Scarlet Benoit’s grandmother is missing. It turns out there are many things Scarlet doesn’t know about her grandmother or the grave danger she has lived in her whole life. When Scarlet encounters Wolf, a street fighter who may have information as to her grandmother’s whereabouts, she is loath to trust this stranger, but is inexplicably drawn to him, and he to her. As Scarlet and Wolf unravel one mystery, they encounter another when they meet Cinder. Now, all of them must stay one step ahead of the vicious Lunar Queen Levana, who will do anything for the handsome Prince Kai to become her husband, her king, her prisoner.

and i'm yours (1)
*Do not read this review if you have not read the first book*
Rating: ♛♛♛♛
Honestly, I found that this was one of the rare times where the sequel is better than the first book. I found Scarlet way better than Cinder. If you have read my other review then, you know that I didn’t understand why there was so much hype surrounding this book. It wasn’t that it was boring, but I just didn’t understand the hype. I still have a little trouble getting all the hype, but I’m getting there. I might love Cress, but I haven’t read it yet. I am definitely going to finish the series. Hopefully before next year.
I thought it was nice to see Cinder’s story through another perspective. I mean, what other people thought about what happened to her at the ball. Although we get some glimpses at her perspective and sometimes Kai’s too.
Let’s talk about the characters. Honestly, I thought that the characters were becoming even more interesting than in the first book. I want to see more characters’ growth but it is a start. Cinder for example, since the ball she is not the same person and you can clearly see it in the second book. There is a change and I learnt to love her through this sequel. Not that I hated her before, but I wasn’t a fan. There are also some new characters coming up in this book.
HELLO
First of all, let’s talk about Kai! Why, oh why?! Did Mrs. Meyer really have to do this to him? Poor him. During all of his chapters, I was like “My poor baby. Everything is gong to be okay”. No but seriously, I really felt bad for the guy. After Cinder, he doesn’t know who to trust and his empire is falling apart and the only way to save it is to marry the evil queen. Sounds like a tragedy to me. I just want him and Cinder reunited in the next book. And at first, he won’t know if he should trust her but eventually, he will see that he loves Cinder and all. *sigh*
Also, I really like how every book in this series is from a different perspective. The first book was from Cinder’s and now we can see the story from someone else’s point of view, which is good since we could see what other people thought about the whole Cinder situation (well, not very good for Cinder).
To be honest, I’m not really into the ships in this book. I love the characters individually, but I’m not sure that I really ship those characters together. Either Cinder and Kai or Wolf and Scarlet. I have to say that I’m not really a fan of Marissa Meyer’s romance. Maybe later…
I will be reading the next book (hopefully soon) and I’ll let you guys know what I think about it 🙂
Hi There!
Leave a Reply

