Ruthless magic| Non-spoiler review

Title: Ruthless magic

Author: Megan Crewe

Published: May 30, 2018

Rating: Rating: ♛♛♛.5

64A1CA83-AFC7-4DA1-A074-0374FB6CE824.png

and i'm yours

Goodreads

In the contest to keep their magic, the only options may be die… or kill.

Each year, the North American Confederation of Mages assesses every sixteen-year-old novice. Some will be chosen. The rest must undergo a procedure to destroy their magical ability unless they prove themselves in the mysterious and brutal Mages’ Exam.

Disadvantaged by her parents’ low standing, Rocío Lopez has dedicated herself to expanding her considerable talent to earn a place in the Confederation. Their rejection leaves her reeling—and determined to fight to keep her magic.

Long ashamed of his mediocre abilities, Finn Lockwood knows the Confederation accepted him only because of his prominent family. Declaring for the Exam instead means a chance to confirm his true worth.

Thrown into the testing with little preparation, Rocío and Finn find themselves becoming unlikely allies—and possibly more. But the Exam holds secrets more horrifying than either could have imagined. What are the examiners really testing them for? And as the trials become increasingly vicious, how much are they willing to sacrifice to win?

The first in a new series by USA Today bestselling author Megan Crewe, Ruthless Magic combines the magic of Harry Potter with the ferocity of The Hunger Games alongside a poignant romance. Fans of Cassandra Clare and Holly Black, look no further for your next urban fantasy fix!

and i'm yours (1)

I received an advance copy from the publisher via NetGalley.

I will be honest about the fact that it took me some time to get into the story, but after a few more pages, I was totally in for it. The story alternates between two perspective; Finn Lockwood and Rocío Lopez. The contrast shown between the two characters was very interesting since we could see two different perspective of the same world. In fact, Finn wants to prove himself without having his family name hanging on his head while Rocío has to prove to everyone that her family name does not mean that she cannot be powerful.

The determination of the characters inspired me so much. They were willing to do anything to prove themselves and I find that so admiring. The pace of the book was quite slow at first which is why I was confused in the beginning, but once the tests started, I was hooked. At some moments in the book, it was even keeping me at the edge of my scene, wanting to know more about what would happen. The horrible things they have to do and endure kept me reading to know more about those characters.

The writing was easy to understand and well-written. The author made a great job at describing the world and I could imagine it clearly in my head. Also, the magic system was so creative and exciting. The competition aspect of the book was what sold the book for me. I just adore whenever characters have a clear goal and would do anything to attain it.

I would like to add that I was quite confused at times about whose of point of view I was reading since it does not specify. For the next book, I would like that it is more obvious or that it is mentioned from which characters are we reading.

The book was filled with action packed adventure for people who want to start reading YA fantasy. Although, having read many books with the same setting and genre, it did not stand out for me. I was not entirely blown away by it, but it is definitely a good book to start with if you want to start with YA fantasy.

Hi There!

Advertisements

February TBR 2018| Mostly re-reads

My TBR keeps growing and I’m probably never going to finish all my books, but here is my TBR for February.

MY.png

I usually don’t plan what I’m going to read (probably because I’m such a mess) for the month, but I decided to give it a try this month.

Since I’m new to this, I did not exactly know how many books I should plan to read. Let’s be honest, I am going to read books that are not on my TBR and not finish the latter, but since everyone is doing it and it seemed to work (sort of), I’ll give it a try!

So the books on my list is:

ASSASSIN’S BLADE AND THRONE OF GLASS(REREAD)

27847921_724260621104174_1890742124_n

I have been planning to reread the throne of glass series so for this month, I will be reading the two first books of the series (well the #0.5 and #1).

27849091_724260611104175_73701666_n

I am still excited to read this series again even though I know what’s going to happen. There’s just something magical in rereading your favorite series. I also planned that this year, I will be rereading a lot of my old series that I love. I already finished some of them in the month of January like The Selection or To all the boys I’ved loved before.

HISTORY IS ALL YOU LEFT ME

27847799_724260601104176_904410909_n

This is my current  read. I finished half of it and I already think that this book is perfection. Seriously, the mixture of happy moments and the sad ones are the best. The flashbacks and the emotions they make you feel is amazing. Love it! And I definitely recommend it.

HALF BAD

27907235_724260597770843_2090751465_o.jpg

I have not started that one yet, but I am very intrigued in this world. I heard a lot of things about it and cannot wait to dive into the book. I am most excited to discover the world and what the politics are made of.

UNTIL FRIDAY NIGHT

27847879_724260617770841_9512627_n

I had this book on my TBR for more than two years now and I have finally decided to give it a try and see where it goes.

What do you guys think about those books? Have you read any?Hi There!

My favorite covers!

happy

Today, I’m going to talk about my favorite covers!

I am not judging those books by their content but by their covers so it might be a super boring book but they will make the list.

So shall we begin?

1. A thousand nights

Image result for a thousand nights

Honestly, this book wasn’t really for me but its cover is so gorgeous. The cover just gives the book some mystery and basically, it is so gorgeous.

2. Magonia

Image result for magonia

I actually DNF Magonia at around a 130 pages so I didn’t like it. I think that the biggest issue I had is the main character. I just could’t get into it because I couldn’t relate to the character at all.

3. Vault of dreams

Image result for vault of dreams luke taylor

I mean, look at his cover. Doesn’t it just say “Read me”! This book is amazing and you guys should read it!!!

4. Cruel Beauty

Image result for cruel beauty

I read Cruel beauty last month and it wasn’t really what I expected it to be, but it was still really nice to read and I surprisingly really liked it. And also look at this cover, isn’t it gorgeous?

5. Six of crows

Image result for six of crows

Six of crows is not only one of my favorite series of all time, but the covers are so beautiful that it just takes my breathe away. I haven’t read the sequel yet but I am going to…soon.

What are your favorite covers?

Hi There!