Ruthless magic| Non-spoiler review

Title: Ruthless magic

Author: Megan Crewe

Published: May 30, 2018

Rating: Rating: ♛♛♛.5

64A1CA83-AFC7-4DA1-A074-0374FB6CE824.png

and i'm yours

Goodreads

In the contest to keep their magic, the only options may be die… or kill.

Each year, the North American Confederation of Mages assesses every sixteen-year-old novice. Some will be chosen. The rest must undergo a procedure to destroy their magical ability unless they prove themselves in the mysterious and brutal Mages’ Exam.

Disadvantaged by her parents’ low standing, Rocío Lopez has dedicated herself to expanding her considerable talent to earn a place in the Confederation. Their rejection leaves her reeling—and determined to fight to keep her magic.

Long ashamed of his mediocre abilities, Finn Lockwood knows the Confederation accepted him only because of his prominent family. Declaring for the Exam instead means a chance to confirm his true worth.

Thrown into the testing with little preparation, Rocío and Finn find themselves becoming unlikely allies—and possibly more. But the Exam holds secrets more horrifying than either could have imagined. What are the examiners really testing them for? And as the trials become increasingly vicious, how much are they willing to sacrifice to win?

The first in a new series by USA Today bestselling author Megan Crewe, Ruthless Magic combines the magic of Harry Potter with the ferocity of The Hunger Games alongside a poignant romance. Fans of Cassandra Clare and Holly Black, look no further for your next urban fantasy fix!

and i'm yours (1)

I received an advance copy from the publisher via NetGalley.

I will be honest about the fact that it took me some time to get into the story, but after a few more pages, I was totally in for it. The story alternates between two perspective; Finn Lockwood and Rocío Lopez. The contrast shown between the two characters was very interesting since we could see two different perspective of the same world. In fact, Finn wants to prove himself without having his family name hanging on his head while Rocío has to prove to everyone that her family name does not mean that she cannot be powerful.

The determination of the characters inspired me so much. They were willing to do anything to prove themselves and I find that so admiring. The pace of the book was quite slow at first which is why I was confused in the beginning, but once the tests started, I was hooked. At some moments in the book, it was even keeping me at the edge of my scene, wanting to know more about what would happen. The horrible things they have to do and endure kept me reading to know more about those characters.

The writing was easy to understand and well-written. The author made a great job at describing the world and I could imagine it clearly in my head. Also, the magic system was so creative and exciting. The competition aspect of the book was what sold the book for me. I just adore whenever characters have a clear goal and would do anything to attain it.

I would like to add that I was quite confused at times about whose of point of view I was reading since it does not specify. For the next book, I would like that it is more obvious or that it is mentioned from which characters are we reading.

The book was filled with action packed adventure for people who want to start reading YA fantasy. Although, having read many books with the same setting and genre, it did not stand out for me. I was not entirely blown away by it, but it is definitely a good book to start with if you want to start with YA fantasy.

Hi There!

Advertisements

Things that make (almost) everyone happy

1

Generally, if you ask my friends, my family or anyone who knows me, they’ll confirm you that I’m a pretty happy person. I love to laugh and makes others laugh so today, I wanted to write a post about the things that make (almost) everyone happy!!! Almost because not everyone likes those things but I think that most people do. Then I’m going to write what makes ME happy.

“Be happy with what you have. Be excited about what you want.” -Alan Cohen

Here are 50 random little things that usually make everyone happy:

  1. Listening to music
  2. Dancing and singing
  3. A long hot bath after a long day
  4. Reading
  5. Shopping
  6. Moving on
  7. Puppies
  8. Hot cookies 
  9. Movies
  10. Hanging out with friends
  11. Chocolate
  12. When you find the perfect outfit match
  13. Family outing
  14. The feeling of accomplishment
  15. Sports
  16. Knowing all the lyrics of a song 
  17. When you just curl in your bed on a rainy day
  18. Eating
  19. Making new friends
  20. Looking at the stars at night and wondering what life is
  21. A hobby
  22. Something you’re obsessed with
  23. When someone texts you first
  24. Laughing until the tears come
  25. Have a feeling you belong
  26. Looking at random lists on the internet 😉
  27. Random but interesting facts
  28. Finding that one friend who has the same interest as you
  29. Watching the sunset
  30. Giving gifts
  31. That awesome feeling after you helped someone
  32. Songs that remind us of something wonderful
  33. Making a joke that made everyone laugh
  34. Walking in a pile of leaves 
  35. Having dreams
  36. Being in love
  37. Traveling
  38. Playing video games
  39. Collecting something
  40. Praying
  41. Receiving a package in the mail
  42. Learning
  43. Drinking hot chocolate during winter days
  44. Talking with your best friend
  45. Giving advice
  46. Happy people
  47. When your room is clean
  48. Birthdays!!
  49. When you’re talking about some happy old memories
  50. Being the best of myself

Continue reading